28 Ruth’s List Women Win on Election Day

Ruth’s List Florida Boasts Historic Victories,
28 Women Win, 19 of those seats move from red to blue.

TAMPA, FL (November 7, 2018) — As the rancorous midterm elections draw to a close, it’s clear that women voters and women candidates across Florida are ready for change. The Republican domination of state government took a serious hit, and in races all over Florida, Democratic women won.
Of the 42 women endorsed this election cycle by Ruth’s List Florida, the only organization in the state that recruits, trains and supports progressive women in their runs for office, 28 won their races.  Of the 28 victories, 19 were red- to- blue flipped seats.  Sixty percent of the winners are women of color.

Since it began 10 years ago, Ruth’s List Florida has raised $5 million for candidates, trained 1800 women and had a historical win of 56 progressive women this cycle.  The organization is looking forward to 2019, when it intends to recruit more than 500 women to run in the 2020 general election.

The Ruth’s List model works. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell was recruited by Ruth’s List 2014 to run for a State Senate seat which she lost.  She almost immediately began her run for Congress utilizing the contacts experience and tools gained through Ruth’s List training and guidance.  She flipped a red seat to blue and will serve in the 116th Congress.

State Senate race winners include: Janet Cruz, House Minority Leader, District 18 (Hillsborough County) who defeated Republican incumbent Dana Young. While she is headed for a recount Democrats expect to hold the seat given the 300 plus vote margin Cruz enjoys. On the House side, candidates endorsed by Ruth’s List holding democratic seats included Amy Mercado, Margaret Good, Delores Johnson and Dotie Joseph.  Flipping red seats to blue include: Geraldine Thompson, Joy Goff Marcil, Anna Eskamani, Fentrice Driskell and Jennifer Webb and Cindy Polo.

“Ruth’s List is thrilled with these results,” Goodman said. “Floridians are clearly ready to fight for a clean environment, a fully funded public education system and the health care we all deserve.  And our wins in the down ballot races show that we are building a strong bench for the future of Florida.”

Other Ruth’s List-endorsed winners around the state include: County Commission Maryhelen Wheeler, Mayra Uribe, Barbara Girtman, Viviana Janer, Mariella Smith, Kimberly Overman.  Tax Collector Mia Jones, Commissioner Crissy Stile and Mayor Teri Johnson. School Board members include Alva Striplin, Joahanna Lopez, Kristine Kraus, and Nicole Carr.

City Council winners are Katie Abbott, Barbara Kramer, Jane Bolin, Lauren Odman.

“Ruth’s List has invested years recruiting and training Democratic pro-choice women to seek and serve in local office,” Goodman said. “Tonight we helped to elect a record number of women up and down the ballot all across the state. We are building the bench of the next generation of leaders in Florida.”

For more information on Ruth’s List Florida, go to www.ruthslistfl.org

Contact: Pamela Goodman


Ruth’s List Florida


Cell: 561-843-1233



Nikki Fried, Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services



Kayser Enneking, State Senate District 8, Alachua, Putnam, Marion counties

Amanda Murphy, State Senate District 16, Pasco and Pinellas counties

House Minority Leader Janet Cruz, State Senate District 18, Hillsborough County

Lindsay Cross, State Senate District 24, Pinellas County

Annette Taddeo, State Senate District 40, Miami Dade



Tracye Polson, State House Rep. District 15, Duval County

Tracey Kagan, State House Rep. District 29, Seminole County

Joy Goff Marcil, State House Rep. District 30, Orange County

Linda Jack, State House Rep. District 36, Pasco County

Barbara Cady, State House Rep. District 42, Osceola and Polk counties

Geraldine Thompson, State House Rep. District 44, Orange County.

Anna Eskamani, State House Rep. District 47, Orange County

Amy Mercado, State House Rep. District 48, Orange County

Debra Bellanti, State House Rep. District 60, Hillsborough County

Fentrice Driskell, State House Rep. District 63, Hillsborough County

Jennifer Webb, State House Rep. District 69, Pinellas County

Margaret Good, State House Rep. District 72, Sarasota

Delores Hogan Johnson, State House Rep. District 84, St. Lucie County

Emma Collum, State House Rep. District 93, Broward County

Cindy Polo, State House Rep. District 103, Miramar

Sara McFadden, State House Rep. District 106, Collier

Dotie Joseph, State House Rep. District 108, Miami Dade


Other races:

Patricia Rumph, Orange County Commission #2

Mia Jones, Duval Tax Collector

Mayra Uribe, Orange County Commission #3

Marihelen Wheeler, Alachua County Commission #2

Barbara Girtman, Volusia County Council #1

Mariella Smith, Hillsborough County Commission #5

Kimberly Overman, Hillsborough County Commission #7

Kristine Kraus, Seminole County School Board #1

Johanna Lopez, Orange County School Board #2

Viviana Janer, Osceola County Commission #2

Alva Striplin, Leon County School Board #1

Nicole Carr, Pinellas County School Board #3

Jane Bolin, Oakland Park City Commission

Pasha Baker, Sanford Mayor

Crissy Stile, Mt. Dora City Commission

Teri Johnston, Key West Mayor

Katie Abbott, Pinecrest Village Council #4

Barbara Kramer, North Miami Beach City Commission #6

Lauren Odman, Dania Beach City Commission